For Site and Category View Permissions
Go to: Admin > Site Builder > Settings icon > Edit > View Permissions
For Customer Portal Section Permissions
Go to: Customer portal > Edit pen > Lock icon > Edit permissions
Use view permissions to show only relevant content to users. View permissions can be managed for a site, category and sections on customer portals.
Keep in mind, view permissions do not override the Service Desk permissions. These still need to be configured in Jira.
An overview of view permissions:
Watch this video to learn how to add view permissions to a site and to sections in the layout editor on a customer portal. We break the steps down below:
View Permissions for Sites and Categories
Use permissions for Sites and Categories if you want some users to find and navigate to a specific site or category, while other navigate to another. You can make a Site visible to anonymous users, logged in users or specified user groups.
Go to: Site Builder > Edit Site or Category you want to add view permissions to. If the lock icon is closed, that means there is already view permissions added to the Site.
Add the relevant Site or Category view permissions
View Permissions on Customer Portals
Use view permissions on customer portal sections to show only relevant content to users on customer portals. For example Astrid as an HR customer portal user, might see a list of knowledge base articles relevant to her, but Rose from the IT department wouldn't see this list.
Each customer portal is made up of Sections. Modules are then added to the sections (knowledge base articles, navigation icons, my requests, etc). By clicking the lock button in the top left hand corner of the section (in editor mode) you can configure which user/s or user group can see the content on that section:
Go to: Site, Category or Customer Portal that you want to edit, click the pen to open the Layout Editor.
If you can't see the pen, make sure you are an admin on that project.
Click the lock icon on the section you want to add view permissions to.
Add the relevant view permissions based on the user groups in your JIRA user groups, then hit save.
If you close off a section so that you can't see it yourself, you can see it in the Layout Editor only.